Back to All Events

Preservation Maryland's Old Line State Summit 2019


As the Summit’s keynote speaker, Jim Lindberg, Vice President of Research and Policy for the National Trust for Historic Preservation, will discuss the ways the goals of preservation are interconnected with those of advocates for issues like the environment, community health, and equitable development. Collaboration and partnership are a key part of any successful preservation effort and in this, the first Old Line State Summit since the launch of Smart Growth Maryland, the plenary talk will explore the importance of this broad coalition to build systems that encourage building reuse. Research across these various fields demonstrates the need to build new rules and unwind entrenched thinking on building communities. The aim to create places that are greener, healthier, and more equitable applies to urban and rural communities alike.


8:30 AM Registration & Breakfast Delaplaine Arts Center

9:40 AM Welcome Delaplaine Arts Center

10:20 AM Concurrent Sessions Delaplaine Arts Center & McClintock Distilling

11:30AM Concurrent Sessions Delaplaine Arts Center & McClintock Distilling

12:40PM Lunch Delaplaine Arts Center

1:50PM Keynote Speaker: “Making Preservation the New Normal: Building Systems for Reuse,”by Jim Lindberg of the National Trust for Historic Preservation Delaplaine Arts Center

3:20PM Concurrent Sessions Delaplaine Arts Center & McClintock Distilling

4:30PM Complimentary Tasting and Distillery Tours McClintock Distilling


Camilla Azucena-Sandoval, University of Maryland Baltimore County; Lindsey Baker, Patapsco Heritage Greenway; Heather Barrett, Maryland Historical Trust; Donald Briggs, Mayor of Emmitsburg; Matt Briney, George Washington’s Mount Vernon; Ronit Eisenbach, University of Maryland; Walter Gallas, Baltimore Commission for Historical and Architectural Preservation; Caroline Herritt, Preservation Maryland; Emily Huebner, Heart of the Civil War Heritage Area; Michael Joy, Joy Development; Peter Kurtze, Maryland Historical Trust; Jim Lindberg, National Trust for Historic Preservation; Tom McGilloway, Mahan Rykiel Associates; Evan H. Morville, Seawall Development Company; Lisa Mroszczyk Murphy, City of Frederick Planning Department; Kara Norman, Downtown Frederick Partnership; Michelle Ramirez, Maryland Department of Natural Resources; Ken Robinson, former Charles County Commissioner; Gabrielle Roffe, Chesapeake Conservancy; Dorothy Stoltz, Carroll County Public Library; Nell Ziehl, Maryland Historical Trust


The Summit will be held at multiple locations in downtown Frederick, Maryland. The Delaplaine Arts Center will be Summit headquarters with select sessions held at McClintock Distilling, the Steiner House, and other historic locations in Frederick. Attendees should plan to arrive and register at the Delaplaine Arts Center to start the day. If you have any accessibility concerns, please contact Jessica Feldt at 410-685-2886, x302 ASAP.


Student: $35
Preservation Maryland Member: $60
Rural County Resident: $60
Non-Member Rate: $75
Registration plus Preservation Maryland membership: $105

Register here.

Earlier Event: July 17
APA Maryland July Member Happy Hour
Later Event: September 12
APA Maryland September Member Happy Hour